Our Heritage

A little bit of South Somerset's History

South Somerset Motocross was formed in 1982 by Barry Carne from Crewkerne and Gerald Pearce from Ilminster, it was one of the later schoolboy scramble clubs to start in the West Country. Somerset, Torbay, South West and North Devon were already in existence and formed the south west association of clubs, who all along with Cornwall, Severn Valley, Corsham and a few other clubs were affiliated to the BSMA.

Former club members who went on to be AMCA champions include Tyrone Saville, Barry Holley and Richard Peaster. There were also other riders of note like Russel Barns and Terry House, GP riders Wayne Butt and Leigh Williams as well as BSB rider’s Martin Jessopp and Alex Buckingham.
More recent times other riders that have moved on to adult competition and still ride with SSMXC on and off include Luke Mellows, Luke Hill, Darren Banwell and Leighton Holmes.

Today SSMXC members and former members that ride at National/European level include Alex Snow, Todd Kellett, Ty Kellett, Billy King, Tommy Alba, Zac Alsop, Jake Alsop, Bradley Flagg, Harry Kimber, Taylor Hammal, Luke Dean, Josh Gilbert and Conrad Mewse.